Apply Nietzsche, Then Wait and See

Standard

That which does not kill us, makes us stronger.

You may have noticed I’ve been away for a while. What I thought was a nasty flu turned out to be “walking pneumonia” and I spent most of February not walking or doing much of anything but sleeping.

If you’ve ever experienced February in the Netherlands,you will apppreciate that sleeping through that dreadful month is really the best way to get it over with as painlessly as possible. Unlike March, which is hopeful, the lambent days of April or glorious May, February is an ugly step-sister of a month.

To be fair, the days grow perceptibly longer in Feburary, but there is so little sunshine to speak of that there doesn’t seem to be much point in mentioning it. There is the perma-drizzle on top of the gray days, and the mud. Don’t get me started on the mud that the dogs love to track onto my kitchen floor. Give me instead the promise of March. The sun has a bit more spunk in March and there are daffodils.

Although I generally subscribe to the Friedrich Nietzsche school of thought on health management, the lure of the daffs, a big dawg in desperate need of fresh air, and my worrying energy level (that of an arthritic 85 year-old) drove me to the GP for a consultation last Monday morning.

As per usual in this bizarre country, I had to tell the doctor what I thought was wrong with me. No listing your symptoms and waiting for the trained medico to give you a diagnosis for the Dutch medical profession. They want to know what you think you have and will start treatment from there. I came prepared with an answer. I’d googled various health-care websites and the dreaded Wiki-icky: walking pneumonia.

The good news, if you can call it that, is that my diagnosis was probably correct. The bad news is that I made it worse by mis-managing my athsma medication ever since the flu came around and have been fighting the pneumonia germs on my own for so long that antibiotics really won’t help at this stage.

With strict instructions to use my inhaler 4x a day and eat healthy food, I was sent on my merry little way. Strange but true, I’m actually feeling better since my visit to the GP. So I’m back. My 365 Walks project stranded at the outset. I’ll resume that one on the first day of spring.

Image

 

Leave a Reply

