Aside

Just for Fun…The Proust Questionnaire

I’m sure some of you are as pretentious as I am are familiar with this from the back page of “Vanity Fair”. I’d come across it as an Open Call at Open Salon a year or two ago and thought it would be fun to do a similar open call here.

Image

The principle aspect of my personality is….

a tendency to believe 5 impossible things before breakfast

The quality that I desire in a man is….

a deep brown voice, hairy chest and outstanding culinary skills

The quality that I desire in a woman is…

panache, a wicked sense of humor and the ability to hold her liquor

What I most appreciate about my friends is …

their quirky minds

My favorite occupation is ….

making love (as opposed to just sex), writing, taking a country walk

My dream of happiness is…

I’m living the dream…

What would be my greatest misfortune?

I hate this question. I’m superstitious, it doesn’t bear thinking about. 

What I should like to be is…

A high-end florist

The country where I should like to live is…

The grass is always greener, isn’t it?  I’ll stay where I am, thanks.

My favorite color is….

Today my favorite color is deep forest green.

My favorite bird is…

The falcon.

My favorite prose author(s) is/ are …

William Faulkner, Anthony Winkler, Bill Bryson, Barbara Pym, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, J.K. Rowling, Armistead Maupin, Rebecca Wells, P.G. Wodehouse, Mazo de la Roche,  Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Joanne Harris…lots more

My favorite poet(s) is/are…

Derek Walcott, Alexander Pope, Tess Gallagher (met her), Robert Bly (met him) Etheridge Knight (I met him too), Nydia Ecury, William Blake (didn’t meet him)…lots more

My heroes in fiction include…

Ron Weasley, Severus Snape, Rodolfo (la Boheme), Sindbad, Perseus, Huck Finn, Ford Prefect, Jeeves, Michael Tolliver, Dr. Sheldon Cooper…lots more

My favroite heroines in fiction…

Francie Nolan, Tosca, Vivian Abbott, Hermione Granger, Adeline Whiteoak, the faithful Morgana, Nokomis…lots more

My favorite composer(s) is/are…

Debussy, Satie, Conte, Quincey Jones, Verdi, Puccini….lots more

My favorite painter(s) is/are…

Frida Kahlo, Shag, Jean Grigori, Marc Chagall….lots more

My hero(es) in real life is/are …

Fire fighters

My heroines in history is/are …

Boudicca, Mme. Curie, Madeline Albright, Anne Frank, Dr. Margaret Sanger, Pocohantas, Maria Tallchief, Phyllis Diller…lots more

My favorite food is…

Today it is minestrone soup.

What I hate most of all….

I don’t hate. Life is too short.

Historical figures I most despise…

See above.

The military event which I admire most…

The “Miracle of the Marne”

The gift of nature that I would like to have…

To be able to throw a ball properly…

How I want to die…

I don’t really. If I have to, then at a ripe old age, calmly, in my sleep.

Present state of mind…

Whimsical

Faults for which I have the most indulgence…

Bad dress sense.

My motto…

Every day I write the book…

Just for Fun……

Leave a Reply

